Posts filed under Media Coverage

Lullatone: the Artists Who Create Music out of Everything

A combination of imaginative and minimalist approach, Lullatone’s music masters the playful melody — their style of producing and recording music is just as interesting and forward thinking as the results.

With their latest release “Acorns” out today and now available for music licensing on the Marmoset catalog, we proudly present a special spotlight short film on Lullatone. Directed by filmmaker Josh Brine, Lullatone members, Shawn James Seymour and Yoshimi Tomida welcome viewers (and listeners) into their charming creative space located in Nagoya, Japan.

Watch to learn more about their story — from what inspires them, their unique and inspiring approach to music production and the a behind the scenes look at the making of “Acorns.”

In case you missed our special interview with Lullatone, click here to learn more about Lullatone.

Your EDM Premieres Distance Song from 'Transference'


When you think of songs from the public domain, you probably think of big bands, crooning vocals, and wax cylinders. Instead, Distance’s re-imagination of the 1919 classic, “The World is Waiting for the Sunrise,” originally written by Eugene Lockhart and sung by Ernest Seitz, uses big contemporary builds and edgy synth tones combined with the smooth, anthemic vocals of Frankie Simone to turn a more than 100 year old composition into a danceable, electro-pop song.

“The original is pretty light on lyrics. So, to put my own twist on it, I decided to use a heavy drop because it’s so different from the original structure of the song,” said Graham Barton, Distance (and Marmoset) composer. “Almost like adding an exclamation point to the original -- helping the song fit in today’s modern EDM form, while also keeping it’s own uniqueness as it ventures off melodically.”

“The World is Waiting for the Sunrise” premiered on Your EDM today and will be available, along with nine additional re-imagined songs, on December 1st. Read more about the other singles by The Helio Sequence, Ural Thomas and The Pain, and Dear Nora in Transference and stay tuned for more announcements before its release.

Posted on November 9, 2017 and filed under Media Coverage.

FADER Premieres New Dear Nora Single


The holidays haven’t arrived quite yet, but we have an early present for you anyway: Dear Nora’s newest song, “Where the Morning Glories Grow” off of our upcoming album, Transference. The song premiered on FADER yesterday and will be available on vinyl, along with the rest of the carefully reimagined songs from the album, on December 1st.

“To create my version of this song, I listened to one or two old renditions and memorized the basic chord structure,” says Dear Nora songwriter and front woman (and Marmoset Original Music Producer), Katy Davidson. “Then I didn’t listen to it again at all, just kept singing it and playing it over and over on guitar until my version was solidified. I collaborated with engineer/producer Tim Shrout and drummer Gregory Campanile on this song. I usually self-record, but it was fun to get into the studio with my friends to make this.”

The song is a reimagined version of the 1917 original by Gus Kahn, Raymond Egan and Richard Whiting (which you might have heard covered by Bing Crosby). Built on simple guitar notes and minimal drum flourishes, Dear Nora takes listeners on a reflective, youthful journey, as Katy sings of revisiting favorite places and nostalgic childhood memories.

Read more about the other singles by The Helio Sequence and Ural Thomas and The Pain off of Transference and stay tuned for even more announcements before its release.

Posted on October 24, 2017 and filed under Music, Media Coverage.

Paste Magazine Premieres New Ural Thomas and The Pain Song

Photos by Ric Walters

Photos by Ric Walters

Earlier this month, we announced the release of our forthcoming album, Transference — reimagining honored, distinguished musical artifacts from the Public Domain — and the premiere of its first single, “Out Among the Sheltering Pines” by The Helio Sequence

ural portrait.jpg

Today, we’re excited to share the second single off of the album. Earlier this morning, Paste Magazine premiered the second single off of the album, a version of the 1896 composition, “Hot Time in the Old Town Tonight,” as knocked out of the park by beloved Portland-based R&B and soul ensemble, Ural Thomas and The Pain. Produced by Katy Davidson, the song is a rollicking rock 'n' roll revival, built on soulful vocals, flares of lively brass and playful piano notes. Stay tuned for more announcements coming up and the album’s release on December 1st.

Posted on September 25, 2017 and filed under Music, Media Coverage.

Brooklyn Vegan Announces 'Transference' with New Song by The Helio Sequence

We are thrilled to announce the release of our forthcoming album, Transference, on December 1. Transference unearths and re-examines a diverse collection of honored, distinguished musical artifacts, each from the public domain — blowing the proverbial dust off of them and transferring the life, feelings, and ideas into something completely different.


Our team of producers collaborated with a diverse swath of artists from our community — including The Helio Sequence, Ural Thomas and the Pain, Dear Nora, Bouquet and more — to take the timeless design of classic public domain songs and reimagine them into something new, whether it be intimate folk, electropop, or soul revival and funk (just to name a few).

This morning, Brooklyn Vegan exclusively premiered the first single off of the album, a reimagining of the 1914 song, “Down Among the Sheltering Palms” by Portland-based indie legends, The Helio Sequence and produced by Marmoset's own Nicole Wilson -- song available for license at Stay tuned for more announcements coming soon.  

Posted on September 1, 2017 and filed under Music, Media Coverage.